Washington, DC – Peter Gregory, Executive Director of the Two River-Ottauquechee Regional Commission in Woodstock, Vermont was elected President of the National Association of Development Organizations (NADO) on August 27, 2013 at the association’s Annual Business Meeting. The meeting was held in conjunction with NADO’s 46th Annual Training Conference in San Francisco, CA.

Gregory has been on the staff of the Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission since 1989 serving as executive director since 1997. Gregory also serves as Chair of the Vermont State Infrastructure Bank and is Vice-Chair of the Vermont Downtown Development Board, the entity that makes decisions on downtown and growth center designations under Vermont law.

The Two Rivers-Ottauquechee Regional Commission is a political subdivision of the state and is comprised of thirty municipalities in the east-central Vermont. It was created in 1970 by its member towns and is governed by a Board of Representatives appointed by each of its member towns. Its mission is to build a thriving regional economy while enhancing the region’s quality of life. It does so by advocacy on behalf of member towns; regional planning and implementation programs and providing technical planning services to local officials.

“We are honored to have Peter Gregory serve as President of NADO. He brings a wealth of expertise, knowledge and leadership on regional community and economic development issues to the national level,” stated Joe McKinney, NADO Executive Director. “Most importantly, he is focused on helping our nation’s local communities pursue comprehensive regional strategies for remaining economically competitive in today’s rapidly changing global environment.”

Other officers elected for the 2013 – 2014 term were: First Vice President Terry Bobrowski, Executive Director, East Tennessee Development District, Alcoa, TN; Second Vice President Jeff Kiely, Executive Director, Northwest New Mexico Council of Governments, Gallup, NM; Treasurer Lynne Keller Forbes, Executive Director, South Eastern Council of Governments, Sioux Falls, SD and Secretary Doug Elliott, Executive Director, East Central Iowa Council of Governments, Cedar Rapids, IA. NADO’s Immediate Past President, John Leonard, Executive Director of the Southern Georgia Regional Commission (Valdosta), will also serve on the Executive Committee.

For more information, see the official NADO Officer press release: President 2013-2014.