TRORC was approached late 2019 by six towns in the TRORC region about hiring staff support to achieve actions and programs implementing each towns’ adopted energy plan. Those towns were Barnard, Fairlee, Sharon, Strafford, Thetford and Woodstock. Following the approval by voters in each of these towns to fund this work, and the execution of an Intermunicipal Energy Agreement articulating responsibilities and roles among the towns and TRORC, the first locally funded, shared service of its kind is off and running.

In 2021, the Towns of Barnard, Sharon, Strafford, Thetford, Woodstock, Norwich, and Bradford are the seven towns that make up the IREC program.

Tasks and programs focused will be driven by a Steering Committee from the seven towns and will include the priorities of each town. Energy efficiency, greenhouse gas emission reduction and other programs that help to meet Vermont’s Comprehensive Energy Plan goals will be the focus of the work.

For more information about this program, contact Geoff Martin at [email protected].

IREC Steering Committee Minutes