# TRORC Board Meeting June 26, 2024 Annual Meeting Board Minutes Attendance:



Name	Town	9/27/23	10/25/23	12/13/23	3/27/24	4/24/24	5/22/24	6/26/24	
Steve Cota	Barnard (Alt)								
Paul Vallee	Bethel (Alt.)		X		X				
Gene Kraus	Bethel	X				X	X	X	
Nancy Jones	Bradford	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	
Marcey Carver	Bradford (Alt)	X		X	X	X		X	
Megan O'Toole	Braintree (Alt)	X							
Sandy Vondrasek	Braintree					X	X	X	
Cooch Lynne Bertram	Bridgewater				X	X		X	
Gwynn Zakov	Brookfield	X		X					
Jon Binhammer	Brookfield (Alt.)								
Carl Pepperman	Chelsea	X				X		X	
Steve Devoto	Corinth					X		X	
Peter Berger	Fairlee	X		X	X	X	X		
Mark Belisle	Granville			X			X	X	
Monica Collins	Hancock	X				X			
Lori Hirshfield	Hartford	X	X			X		X	
Bruce Riddle	Hartford (Alt)		X	X	Х	X	X		
Charles Jeffries	Hartland	X	X	X	X	X		X	
Frank Tegethoff	Newbury	X	_X	X	X	X	X	X	
Larry Scott	Newbury (Alt.)	X					X		
Brian Loeb	Norwich	X	X				X	X	
Jaci Allen	Norwich (Alt.)				X	X			
Herb Kuendig	Pittsfield	Х					X	X	
Anne Brown	Plymouth	X		X		X	X		
Bill Emmons	Pomfret	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	
Regina Lawrence	Pomfret (Alt)							X	
Chris Sargent	Randolph		X			X		X	
Patricia Harvey	Rochester	X	X		X	X		X	
Doon Hinderyckx	Rochester (Alt)								
David Brandau	Royalton		X		X	X	X	X	
Bushrod Powers	Royalton (Alt)	X				X	X	X	

William B. Emmons, III, Chair ~ Peter G. Gregory, AICP, Executive Director 128 King Farm Rd. Woodstock, VT 05091~ 802-457-3188 ~ trorc.org

Name	Town	9/27/23	10/25/23	12/13/23	3/27/24	4/24/24	5/22/24	6/26/24	
Ira Clark	Sharon	X	X		X		X	X	
Sue Sellew	Sharon (Alt.)					X			
Kevin Travis	Stockbridge								
John Echeverria	Strafford		X	X	X	X	X	X	
Angela McCanna	Thetford	X	X		X			X	
Jim Masland	Thetford (Alt)							X	
Jim Clark	Topsham	X							
Michael Sacca	Tunbridge								
Kevin Rose	Tunbridge (Alt)								
Andrea Herrington	Vershire		X	X		X	X	X	
Nancy Malmquist	W. Fairlee	X	X	X			X	X	
Don Bourdon	Woodstock	X	X	X		X		X	
Brad Prescott	Woodstock (Alt)	X			X			X	
Meghan Butts	At-Large	X	X		X				
Jennifer Colby	At-Large	X	X	X		X		X	
Ken Alton	At-Large	X	X			X	X	X	
Dan Rudell	At-Large								
Andrew Winter	At-Large	X	7			X		X	
Meg Emmons	At-Large		X	X		X	X		

**Staff**: Peter Gregory, Kevin Geiger, Rita Seto, Pete Fellows, Sarah Wraight, Kyle Katz, Sydney Steinle, Harry Falconer, Meghan Asbury, Geena Baber, Bryan Kovalick, Christina Scott, and Kyra Wood.

**Guests**: Tom Kennedy, Tory Littlefield, Cory Smith, Nate Miller, Kiel Alarcon, Tim Dahlstrom, Cynthia Powers, Carin Pratt, Tovahn Vitols, Lucas Stephno, Alma Roystan, and Valerie Major.

# 1. Call to Order, Approval of the Agenda, Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Bill Emmons as Chair. Introductions were made. The Chair asked for any needed changes to the agenda. None were made.

# 2. Approval of June 2023 Annual Meeting minutes

The minutes were approved unanimously on a motion by Bushrod Powers seconded by Frank Tegethoff.

## 3. Acceptance of May Financial Reports

Executive Director Gregory noted that the financials looked good, and we should be ending the year well in the black. He thanked the staff for their good work and reputation that allows TRORC to get important roles. The May financials were accepted unanimously on a motion by Nancy Jones seconded by Chris Sargent.

## 4. Approval of FY 2025 Budget

Executive Director Gregory noted that the budget is based on contracts in hand and new contracts are already coming in, so the budget is strong. Budget increased from \$3.2 million to \$3.7 million. The Commission is fully

staffed. He asked for any discussion. The budget was approved unanimously on a motion by Mark Belisle seconded by Herb Kuendig.

#### 5. Election of Officers and Executive Committee Members

Chair Emmons read the slate of officers and Executive Committee members as presented by the Nominating Committee. There were no nominations from the floor. On a motion made by David Brandau seconded by Nancy Jones the following were elected Officers – William Emmons, Chair; John Echeverria, Vice Chair; Peter Berger, Treasurer; Nancy Jones, Secretary; and Brian Loeb, Nancy Malmquist, and Ken Alton, for Executive Committee Members-At Large.

# 6. Election of TRORC At-Large Members and TRORF Member

Chair Emmons read the slate as presented by the Nominating Committee. He thanked those willing to serve. There were no nominations from the floor. On a motion made by Jenn Colby seconded by Charles Jeffries the following were elected – Agriculture: Meg Emmons; UVLSPRC, Meghan Butts; Business, Ken Alton; Housing, Andrew Winter; Conservation, Dan Ruddell; and TRORF, Don Bourdon.

## 7. Scholarships

Executive Director Gregory stated that the scholarships were a great way for TRORC to give back to our communities and he thanked Commissioners for supporting this investment. Nancy Jones, from the Scholarship Committee noted that we had many applicants, and that the final selection is an impressive collection of students. A total of ten \$2,000 awards were made.

#### 8. Volunteer of the Year Award

Frank Tegethoff introduced Alma Roystan and thanked her for her many roles and years of service to the town. Alma humbly accepted the award, noting that it was never her alone.

## 9. Staff/Commissioner Updates

Executive Director Gregory thanked the Board for their support and staff again. Chair Emmons thanked Frank Tegethoff and Jenn Colby for their service as they will be leaving the Board. Kiel Alarcon noted the grant that Windsor got. Jim Masland reflected on the Act 250 bill that passed.

# 10. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Kevin Geiger July 1, 2024